1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Different strings for different tuning?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Jimstyx, Jul 4, 2018.

1. Jimstyx

Jimstyx

Jun 27, 2018
    So I just started listening to ghost again, and I know they play in d standard as I'm new to bass I just want to know do I HAVE to change my strings for different turnings? Specifically d standard but for future refferance do I need to change the strings for any tuning or will the strings that come on my bass stock be ok?
    Not sure what strings came on my bass btw

2. Jimstyx

Jimstyx

Jun 27, 2018
    Ps new to bass if this isn't completely obvious lol

3. Paulabass

Paulabass Supporting Member

Sep 18, 2017
    For D standard you should be fine with whatever is on your bass. When you are just learning, what's wrong with regular tuning?

Jimstyx likes this.
  4. sneauxman

sneauxman

Jul 14, 2017
    Just a step down to d you should be fine unless the strings are really light gauge. If things are too loose for your taste try a medium or medium heavy gauge

Jimstyx likes this.
  5. Jimstyx

Jimstyx

Jun 27, 2018
    Ghost plays in d standard and I figured if I'm trying to get that sound I should copy that tuning

6. Paulabass

Paulabass Supporting Member

Sep 18, 2017
    You're going to learn from one band?

7. Ophiothrix

Ophiothrix

Aug 4, 2016
    Glasgow
    I'll have to double-check this when I get a chance, but are you absolutely sure the bassists for Ghost downtune? I learned a couple of Ghost tracks as combined singing and playing practice (Square Hammer for sure, don't remember the other title off the top of my head) and I didn't have to alter my tuning for either.

8. Gearhead17

Gearhead17 Supporting Member

May 4, 2006
    Roselle, IL