Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

dimarzio model J options

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by matt_dutyfree, Apr 5, 2005.

1. I'm really interested to know what options I'd have and what effect they would have on my sound if I were to get these pickups.

I'm talking coil tapping options and series/parrallel options...

I'm pretty new to these ideas so some general ideas or pointers would be so awesome!

Cheers!

2. sotua

sotua

Sep 20, 2004
    US Northeast
    Model J's can be wired in parallel or in series, each pickup. Coil tap isn't all that useful because they are split-coil pickups, meaning a coil tap would mute one half of the pickup.

Here's a nifty diagram for wiring your pickups with a volume-volume-tone, with both volumes push-pull for series-parallel operation each:

http://www.dcc.uchile.cl/~jagonzal/wiring.gif

3. Cheers that's awesome!

I take that will make it sound more like a regular jazz bass ie both pups would go from being split coil to single and will be in parallel with each other?!?

could I also add a dpdt toggle for making the two pups in series/para with each other???

4. sotua

sotua

Sep 20, 2004
    US Northeast