Do You Trust Craigslist Musicians?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Icarus26, Feb 8, 2009.

1. I'm pretty sure we all know what craigslist is. For those who don't, its the classifieds where people can post ads and things like that. I'm looking for a band to audition for and have been posting ads on craigslist. My question is do you trust craigslist? Do you think people on the other end of the computer are legit musicians? Ever have any bad experiences with meeting musicians over craigslist? Good experiences are welcome too.

2. Slax

Slax

Nov 5, 2007
    Long Island, NY
    Found my current cover band through CL... so far no problem. Also found our first gig coming up using it. I'm a happy user. :D

3. Matt Dean

Matt Dean Supporting Member

Jan 2, 2007
    SF (North) Bay Area
    I've hooked up with some great musicians on CL.

4. I've had lots of experience with craigslist and I can tell you that most of the people on their are just as you are: Curious as to whats out there, but cautious to avoid creepers.

A lot of the people on there, though, are also either wankers or have little to no musical talent, drive, or ambition.

Whatever you do, be careful and ask a LOT of questions.

5. IvanMike

IvanMike TTRPG enthusiast, Happy, Joyous, & Free. Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    Can you trust people on TalkBass?

To give you the right answer to this question?

;)

6. nothumb

nothumb

Sep 20, 2006
    NYC
    as a general rule, no, you can't trust people on craigslist and they'll waste your time. if you're a competent professional and are looking for someone with similar tastes and abilities, it's easier to find working musicians for cover bands, less so people for new, unique original music.