DR Sunbeam sound and feel in a groundwound string?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by dlenaghan, Nov 3, 2011.

1. So I've been using Sunbeams on my Guilds, but I'd like one off them to wear flats...but not true flats, since I don't really like the feel. Any suggestions for round core, low tension nickel strings in a hybrid round/flat category? Apologies if I've misused any terminology, I'm not an expert on strings...

2. Basscataz

Basscataz

Jul 21, 2010
    NYC
    d'addario semi flats, or half wounds, are great. i used to use them on my fretless.

3. f.c.geil

f.c.geil

May 12, 2011
    Only round wounds sound like round wounds. DR's own Pressure wounds are good compromise strings, though.

4. @ Basscataz: Thanks for the input, I'll check them out.
    @ tekdiver: I know, I know - and actually I like Sunbeams so much because they sound so little like most other rounds I've tried, you know, with that soft blooming warmth they're noted for.. I'll check out the pressure wounds.

I asked because the bass I intend on installing them on has this beautiful brass custom bridge which gives it great sustain, but the brightness and bite is a bit much. I'm waiting for its Sunbeams to oxidize a bit, since I know they really warm up after a couple of weeks and level out with the edge. I figured a half-flat string profile would temper the bite of the brass without compromising the sustain or overall character of the bass.

5. mmbongo

mmbongo Regular Human Bartender Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    That's gonna be a hard thing to find, since Sunbeams use a round core. You just won't get that feel with anything else.

6. SLaPiNFuNK

SLaPiNFuNK Inactive Commercial User

Jul 28, 2006
    LA California
    The Brains: FretNation.com
    DR does not make any pressure wounds?

Which strings were you thinking of?

7. f.c.geil

f.c.geil

May 12, 2011