Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Drop D on a 5 string?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by fenbull, Nov 24, 2003.

1. fenbull

fenbull

Oct 31, 2003
    Akron ohio
    I just bought a five string and was wondering if I can tune the B to D will this be to tight? Can it cause problems to my neck? What if i drop the gauge of the string to match my E and then drop to D would this work or be better. Sorry if this has been asked before...but i am new to 5 stringers. I like to play in drop d but hate detuning the bass.:bassist:

2. Personally can't see why you'd want to, you're limiting your range. But each to their own.

You could try it with a thinner gauge B, or a heavier E, essentially you want something between the standard E and B gauges. If you tune up using a normal B, you will end up with the tensions weird across the strings, so you run the risk of ending up with a bit of a twist happening, possibly.

Experiment a bit but if you notice the relief on one side of the neck is different to the other, you'll probly wanna fix something up.

Josh D

3. EBMatt

EBMatt

Nov 21, 2003
    Springfield, MA
    You can tune the bass D-A-D-G-B if you wanted and get the extra high string instead. But if you don't like tuning the bass to Drop-D that is the same thing. I wouldn't tune the B up to a D. I would think it would be too much tension on the neck. Another option is to try and get used to the 5-string the way it is, which I think is your best bet.

Why don't you like tuning to drop-D?

4. Fen, the point of a 5 string is you already have the low D to hit, on the third fret of the B string.

I can see you wanting the Drop D on the other strings as well but, you will need lighter guaged strings and, I would suggest a string with less tension such as the Thomastik Power bass series.

Some times a new nut is required.

[​IMG]
    Treena

5. fenbull