ELECTRONICS HELP! PLEASE!!! 0 SOUND!

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by BassCreator55, Sep 19, 2019.

1. BassCreator55

BassCreator55

Sep 19, 2019
    I recently decided to dive into my cheap six string bass and attempt to do some modifications. I'm completely new to dealing with any inner workings of my basses so I've been kinda winging it as I go. I'm at the point that I've replaced all of my hardware and electronics but have ZERO sound. Just completely unresponsive. Installed a Bourns 500k volume potentiometer, PureTone barrel jack, DarkGlass Tone Capsule preamp, and a Skjold ramp pickup.
    20190901_010009.jpg

I had to make my own wiring diagram as nothing came with the pickup and I couldnt find anything online.
    20190831_230936.jpg

Is there something I'm missing? Something I screwed up? Any input at this point would be helpful!

Attached Files:

2. If you wired it exactly like your drawing, the signal hot should go to the tip connection on the output jack. You have the battery minus there in the drawing. The battery negative lead should connect to the ring terminal and the grounds connect to sleeve.

Understanding Guitar Wiring | stewmac.com

3. BassCreator55

BassCreator55

Sep 19, 2019
    I was basing my diagram on the diagram provided with the preamp. According to that the "out" of the preamp, which I assume is the hot, shows it connected to the ring and the battery connected to the tip. I just tried switching them to no avail.
    Here is part of the diagram for the preamp.
    20190920_080236.jpg

4. Not sure then. The signal hot definitely goes to the tip connection. If it was on my bench, I’d probably start by bypassing everything and connecting the pickup to the amp and see if I had signal there and work my way forward and see where the signal goes away.

If it’s a barrel jack, are you sure the connections are right? I usually end up double checking with a meter.