Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

EUB for a Newbie!

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by RenzB, Oct 15, 2005.

1. RenzB

RenzB

May 12, 2005
    Baldwin Park, CA
    I have been playing bass guitar for about 10 years or so. My new bride, who happens to be a vocalist, introduced me to the world of jazz and standards. I decided to learn how to play an upright for that kind of music. Right now, DB's are out of the question. I would like to know what kind of EUB's, you guys would suggest. I've heard a lot of good things about Azolas, Eminence and Alter Ego's. Of course price is a major consideration. My price range would be about $3000, give or take. Just need something decent I can use with a 4-5 piece band. Thanks for the help in advance.

2. not that there's anything wrong with an eub, quite on the contrary, but in case you wanted to know, you can get a very decent beginners double bass for 3k. if you are interested check out these basses: shen, upton, bob gollihur has a fully carved bass for a little over 2k, eastman and christopher. but back to the eub. the bsx allegro bass seems to get some good reviews as well as the czeck-ease from david gage.

3. fat paul

fat paul

Oct 15, 2005
    Abq. NM
    I have an azola made ampeg baby bass that I use in a 7 piece r&b, blues and soul band. We get very loud but this bass keeps up with no signs of feedback. You might look for used one of these
    fat paul

4. RenzB

RenzB

May 12, 2005
    Baldwin Park, CA

Thanks for your feedback. The thing that I'm avoiding is to spend money on a beginner instrument then having to purchase an upgrade later on. I'm willing to spend the money on an instrument that I can learn on, be proficient at and use on regular gigs. I'm checking on your suggestions right now. Thanks again!

5. RenzB

RenzB

May 12, 2005
    Baldwin Park, CA