Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Extention cabinet question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bigcardinal, Dec 16, 2005.

1. I have a Yorkville XM200 combo that I would like to add an extention cabinet to. It will put out 200w @ 4 ohms when the extention is attatched. One of the cabs I have looked at is rated to 150w @ 8 ohms, which might be cutting it a little close (no headroom, I'm assuming). The other can handle 600w @ 4 ohms, obviously no risk of damaging it here.

My question is, is too much headroom a bad thing? And how close can I cut it? is the 150w cab a bad idea. Let me know what you think cause I am new to all this. Thanks!

2. cheezewiz

cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    Ohio
    Its not a bad idea per se. Most cabs can handle more than the rated power, however, practically, a cab rated to handle only 150 watts is probably a piece of crap and you may want to look elsewhere. In the setup you are considering, each speaker (the one in your combo, and the extension) will only get 100 watts. You also need to watch your ohm load. Its very possible your combo may be made to use an 8 ohm extension only. One more point,...headroom usually refers to the power your head puts out, not the power your cab can handle. Having alot of headroom is almost NEVER a bad thing.

3. thanks for your help...and for clearing up the headroom thing. The guys at the store told me that the combo by itself is 200w @ 8 ohms, but that actually it is probably only around 165w by itself, but by adding another cab, then both the internal speakers and the cab will be driven at 200w each @ 4 ohms...does that sound right??

4. cheezewiz

cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    Ohio
    No, thats not correct. I just looked up the XM200 combo on Yorkville's website. I'm guessing you have the model with two 10 inch speakers since you used the term "internal speakers" Here are the specs: