Fender Aerodyne Bridge Swap Maybe?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by SuckaFish, Apr 28, 2019.

1. SuckaFish

SuckaFish

Apr 28, 2019
    Hey guys, I’m a long time bassist who has often read up on Talk Bass, but today I actually joined so I could ask the experts!

I have one of the non-export Fender Jazz Aerodyne basses that Ive had for about a decade. I love the feel of the bass and the neck is worn in to what feels like home base for me.

Recently my wife bought a Steve Harris Signature Bass and I realized it blew my Aerodyne out of the water in about every way.

I was planning to do a few upgrades on the bass including new pickups (the current ones are muddy and have a buzz in the background).

I know high mass bridges are a constant debate, but I’ve wondered are there any direct high mass replacements for the Aerodyne? The bridge is sunk into the body on the Aerodynes, so I don’t want to drill or have to file out any of the body for an upgrade that may not be too noticeably different in sound.

Sorry for the insane wall of text, but I look forward to hearing some input from you all! Thanks in advance. :)

Master Chief likes this.
  2. Slater

Slater Leave that thing alone.

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    If you’re planning to make a pickup change, I would do that before changing the bridge. I happen to be in the “changing the bridge won’t make much tonal difference” camp. So, a pickup change might be pleasing enough for you.

You could probably drop in a Seymour Duncan SPB-4 Steve Harris P-pickup and a STK-J2B Jazz Bridge pickup, and get close to your wife’s Steve Harris sig. bass.

Zoobiedood likes this.
  3. SuckaFish

SuckaFish

Apr 28, 2019
    I do like the pickup first idea! That may very well be what I end up doing. I was actually thinking about dropping in a Custom Shop 60s P like they had in the US Standards, and a J Bass pickup from US Standard since I remember those being the bee’s knees.