Fender American Jazz 2008 vs. 2000

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by CPplaysBASS, Jul 7, 2008.

1. CPplaysBASS

CPplaysBASS

Mar 17, 2007
    Ontario
    Hi All,
    I am considering buying a 2008 American Jazz Bass and know they have a new style "HMV bridge" and a graphite reinforced neck.

I can also save substantial $ by purchasing a mint American Jazz that was made in 2000. Does anyone here have the knowledge to know how the 2008 and 2000 models compare in terms of the bridge, graphite reinforced neck and pickups?

Any help is appreciated!

Many thanks,
    Clarence

2. waynobass

waynobass

Feb 27, 2008
    Texas
    The '08 is a quantum leap forward. Spend the extra money.

3. DadHatter

DadHatter

May 29, 2008
    What he said. ;)

4. fenderx55

fenderx55

Jan 15, 2005
    NYC/Queens
    word.

I have an '03 J that I got when I graduated high school. When the 08s came out I went to GC to check it out, and promptly started thinking "I wonder if I could swing this as a college grad present."

considering the cost of my education, I put this thought out of my mind. I guess I'll have to live with my thick poly coat. :bawl: ;)

5. I own a 08' Fender MIA Jazz V, I don't own a 00' so I wouldn't be able to give you a comparison. Though, I can tell you that the 08' is an awesome sounding bass, nothing like it. The craftsmanship is an A+ across the board, the sound is terrific. The notes are deep, articulate, unbelievably punchy sounding, every note cuts thru the mix in my band. I've been playing bass for over 30+ yrs. and have played all different types of basses Music Man, Steinberger, Ibanez, Yamaha, Fender from the early 90's, Rickenbacker, Carvin and been playing with my drummer for over 24 yrs. and he says that with my new 08' MIA Jazz this is the best my bass has ever sounded. I don't know if that helps you in anyway, but I can tell you this that I'm a very happy guy with my new 08' Jazz.:bassist:

6. savit260

savit260

Mar 6, 2006
    Boston