First time Bass player

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by MistaCool, Jun 16, 2004.

1. MistaCool

Jun 16, 2004
    Alright, I'm new to bass and new to these forums so let me summarize for you my whole situation: I am 17, today is the first day I have ever played bass, I can kinda play the intro to Guerrila Radio and Californiacation, I want to learn more...

Four things I've learned:
    1. I suck
    2. Bass makes your fingers hurt like a bitch
    3. My hands seem to be un-coordinated with eachother
    4. 17 year olds can still cry from physical pain

Four things I want to learn:
    1. How to position my hands
    2. How to make my weakass fingers stronger
    3. How to actually play
    4. What is my purpose on this earth

I don't expect anyone to answer the fourth, unless you're some astral being, but I would like to know a lot more about this crazy instrument.
  2. birdsg

Dec 18, 2003
    Birmingham England

We all suck when we start and the hurting of the fingers and pain is part of the process of improvement. I know its cliched but the 'practice makes perfect' saying is true on bass as in all walks of life.
    I think you will find that although at this moment you are struggling there will come a time maybe in a day or week or month when something clicks and you think 'hey, I dont suck as bad now'. Of course a few weeks later you will suck again but compared with where you are now you will be much better just its a long journey and you sometimes dont notice the improvements as they are so gradual.