1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Flat-wounds: How long is too long?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by mobeme23, Nov 8, 2018.

1. mobeme23

mobeme23

Aug 27, 2018
    Hey everybody, i'm pretty new to the TB crowd, and i've been playing now for only a few years. I'm wondering about various opinions regarding the typical life of of flat-wound strings.

Currently, my G&L L1505 has D'addario Nickle flats (not sure of the specific gauges).
    To me, when this particular set was freshly broken-in, there was a distinct brightness and attack that i liked, but as i continue to play the strings, they have gotten warmer and a bit more punchy. while it's still suitable to me, my untrained ears might be mistaking that as dull or dead to a more well-experienced player.

i'm sure there are numerous factors contributing to a given set's "shelf life", but i'm curious about what indicators to look/listen for as the strings age.

What are some indicators that it is time to switch out?
    thanks for helping out a noob!!

2. Flatwound: Well-aged vs. Dead...

Trust your own ears as to how they should sound. The most important thing to keep in mind, though, is how they sound IN A MIX, not all on their own.

By the way, there is no such thing as "D'Addario Nickel Flatwound". D'Addario Chromes (as they're commonly known as) are actually stainless steel.

Last edited: Nov 8, 2018
  3. mobeme23

mobeme23

Aug 27, 2018

thanks!
    i should have looked into the actual type of strings (going from poor memory).
    great point about judging by how they sound in the mix.
    so far, at least on recordings, they still sit nicely in the mix.

Nunovsky likes this.
  4. oldrocker

oldrocker

Feb 13, 2005
    Long Island, NY