1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Formby's Tung Oil: High or Low Gloss

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by nfgrufio, Apr 9, 2010.

1. nfgrufio

nfgrufio

Jan 22, 2005
    I have an unfinished Allparts neck that I have been working on, rolling the fretboard, filing the frets and nut, etc. My next step is to finish it with Formby's Tung Oil but I went to the store and realized there was there was an option of high and low gloss and I have no idea which one would be the better choice for the necks finish.

I know there is a lot of people here that have used tung oil for finishing necks/bodies so I was hoping someone could give me some advice on which one would be best. My first instinct is to go with the low gloss, because I am more of a fan of the satin type finishes rather than gloss, but then again I am no expert...

Which did you used and how did it look/feel?

2. Greenman

Greenman

Dec 17, 2005
    Ontario Canada
    Start with the low gloss and see how you like it. You can always go gloss if you wish.

3. davemonkey

davemonkey

Mar 28, 2010
    Houston, TX
    How does Tung oil compare with something like "Tru-Oil"? I've used "Tru-Oil" to refinish a rifle and was very pleased with it, but it did darken the wood. I'd like to use Tung Oil for my bass, but I'm curious how it will finish out.

-Dave

4. Greg Clinkingbeard

Greg Clinkingbeard

Apr 4, 2005
    Kansas City area
    KC Strings
    Different strokes and a thousand opinions here but I would go with a coat of Watco. Let that dry well and follow up with many coats of lemon oil applied with 0000 steel wool or a 3M pad. Then, rub hard with your palm. You can seal the wood pretty well this way and get it smooth enough to get a decent gloss but it feels like no finish at all.