1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Getting the Perfect Sound!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MarcTheRogue, Mar 27, 2013.

1. MarcTheRogue

MarcTheRogue

Mar 27, 2013
    Greetings, all! I am Marcus, and I am a bassist in need of some help. Now, I do not know where would be best to place a thread with as broad of a topic as this, but I placed it in the most obvious sub-board: Bass Guitar. I would like to apologize to the administrators ahead of time if this thread seems out of place, but I am a newcomer to the TalkBass forums! I would gladly appreciate a warm welcome, and I can help some of my fellow bassists in their future endeavors.

Alright, let's get down to business!

I have been playing for three years now, and my rig consists of an Ibanez IBZ15 B 15 watt bass amp, an Ibanez GSR200, a Rogue LX205B (both passive pickups, DR Strings), and a Digitech RP50 Modeling Guitar Processor (I know, guitar pedals with basses usually don't mix, but it's all I can get my hands on at this point).

I believe that my tone at this point deserves a bit of an upgrade. I have always been aiming for raspy, vicious sort of tone to go with my bass. I have three videos below to demonstrate the type of tone I am aiming for.

Any help on achieving this "dream tone" would be well appreciated! I know that this will probably require a new amp or pedal, but we'll work on that another day. ;)

Cheers! ~Marcus

2. the wako kid

the wako kid

May 11, 2011
    Denver,CO