1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

GK Questions!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Silas Caldwell, Apr 12, 2021.

1. Hello! I am a light touring musician (playing in different towns once every two weeks or so) and I play bass and do vocals. I use a GK MB212-II Combo and it sounds perfect with my basses (Gibson Thunderbird and Ernie Ball Sterling SUB Stingray). I nearly just sold it and got a Fender Rumble 800 Head with 2x12 Cab and 1x15 Cab. However, the Rumble just didn't have the GK Tone. I'm looking for a similar rig to my GK MB212-II Combo in Head/Cab Format. Should I stick with the combo or go for a whole different sound all together? What brands sound similar to GK Tone?

Ellery and lowendrachel like this.
  2. 2milehighspike

2milehighspike Supporting Member

call me a [email protected]$$ but look into a GK! If that’s what you like stick with it. I toured with a MBF800 for years and it never let me down. I haven’t tried the newer offerings but I’m sure you would find what would work. GK is good stuff!

3. I appreciate the reply!

2milehighspike likes this.
  4. musicman556

musicman556 Gold Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2019
    Smyrna, TN
    Sounds like you're very happy with GK... I'd probably just be looking at a GK Legacy head and either the CX series or Neo IV series cabs in whatever configs make you happy.

That Neo IV 212 cab looks pretty sweet. 800w, 44 lbs, $900. Pretty good. I just paid hundreds more for a less-powerful Aguilar SL212, but I wanted the Aggie to match my Tone Hammer 500 head.