Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

GK700rb ohm question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by etaym, Feb 2, 2006.

1. etaym

etaym

Mar 28, 2005
    Newton, MA
    Hi. i own a GK 700rb amp and a 2x10 eden 4ohm cab. i would like to add an 8ohm 1x15 but i understand this would be a problem.

someone told me i can connect the 2x10 to the amp and somehow connect the 1x15 to the 2x10. i would like to hear your opinion since i have no knowledge when it comes to electronics.

from my basic basic basic understanding: the amp is 4ohms. i want to connect 4 an 8. the amp will not appreciate this :meh:

2. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    NY
    You are correct for the most part here. The lowest your amp will go before damaging itself and/or the speaker is 4 ohms. You're best bet if you wanted to use two cabs, is to have two 8 ohm cabs connected directly to the outputs of the amp (in parallel), it would result in a 4 ohm load. As I was corrected by tornadobass, "Whether you plug both cabs into the amp or daisy chain cabs, it's still parallel wiring and results in an impedance below 4 ohms". If you connect both cabs directly to the back of your amp (in parallel), it would result in a 2.66 ohm load, which is not good for your amp. Here is a couple of links to read that easily explain what you are going through:

http://www.musiccenters.com/vol.html

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-BwWmqE3YmpO/tech/kb334.html

3. etaym

etaym

Mar 28, 2005
    Newton, MA
    thanks!! one question then - if i connect the 8ohm to the 4ohm you say the result will be 12ohm and will not take advantage of my amp. The what WILL happen? will i get a weaker output then just the 4ohm? will i lose lower/higher frequancies?

4. tornadobass

tornadobass Supporting Member

Nov 20, 2000
    Iowa City, Iowa
    Endorsing Artist: Black Diamond & SuperSensitive strings