Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Good bass on 800$ budget

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Maxian, May 23, 2005.

1. So I am a highschool student and I think it is about time I get a new bass. For the apst year/year and a half I have been using a Fender Highway One Jazz Bass. I was wondering if anyone can suggest a bass to buy.

Thanks

2. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    You can get a GREAT bass for that price if you're willing to go used. Check out Ebay. I have gotten my last several basses used that way, all for around $800.

Check out used MusicMan Stingrays, G&L 2000/2500's, American Jazz's, and a host of others.

3. mike sancho

mike sancho SANCH

Feb 10, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    G&L, Lakland Skyline, used Fender MIA, Fender Geddy Lee. Cort Josh Paul, KSD J bass. There's a lot of good basses in that price range. Take your time play as many as you can before you decide. Good Luck!

4. Hollow Man

Hollow Man Supporting Member

Apr 28, 2003
    Springfield, VA
    Where to start... how many strings? What type of music do you play? What features do you want/not want on your bass? Give us some information before you start looking for suggestions.

5. Lorenzini

Lorenzini

Dec 31, 2004
    Los Angeles
    Try to get a Fender MIA Jazz Dlx used.
    There's one in the Classified's section here on TB.
    I almost bought it - but already have an MIA Jazz Dlx of the same year. Pounce!

6. psi

psi

Mar 11, 2005
    New Jersey
    For $800 I'd recommend a Spector.

7. Dincrest

Dincrest

Sep 27, 2004
    New Jersey
    You may even be able to snag a used Warwick Corvette or Fortress.

8. bovinehost

bovinehost

Dec 5, 2002
    Endorsing Artist: Ernie Ball Music Man/Sterling By Music Man
    What's wrong with the Hwy 1 Jazz you have?

9. Snarf

Snarf

Jan 23, 2005
    New York, NY