1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Groove courses

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Sean Parsons, Nov 23, 2018.

1. Sean Parsons

Sean Parsons

Nov 13, 2018
    Hi guys,

Does anyone have any recommended books or online tutors they would like to share.

I’m new to bass and I’ve become aware of some of the online schools and some books but at this stage I’d really like to focus on groove, timing and rhythm. Not too interested in slapping and solos at the moment.

I looked at Adam Nitti, Scott’s, John Patituccis courses.

Anyone have any experience of these or other courses.

I did search previous posts but they were very general and didnt give much detail about content etc.

Cheers
    Sean.

2. Ed Friedland has a book on groove. I think it is called Building Bass grooves. It was over my head the first time I read it. I thought I was to use the notes shown in his examples. It really has to do more with rhythm and falling into "the groove" with the drummer than the specific notes used...

Several years later I picked it up again and I was ready.

Clapping the beat is a good get started exercise. Following the drummer's kick drum is what we should be doing. You can groove roots, it really is a rhythm thing. Based upon the songs time signature, i.e. 3/4, 4/4, 5/8, etc.

I watch the drummer's kick pedal and get the basic beat from that. I ignore his fills and runs and concentrate on the basic beat. I would say that, and clapping the beat, would be step one. Carol Kay starts you out clapping everything.

Have fun.

Last edited: Nov 23, 2018
  3. onda'bass

onda'bass Supporting Member

Sep 5, 2010
    Buffalo Ny
    Stop with the books courses etc... listen to the masters and learn their lines. In years past people did not have our technology, just ears and recordings.

Lesfunk, bass12, JRA and 1 other person like this.
  4. RickyT

RickyT