Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Guide for playing bass

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by ras1983, Mar 6, 2005.

1. ras1983

ras1983

Dec 28, 2004
    Sydney, Australia
    Not sure which forum to put this in…

This thread is intended for anyone that has just started playing bass. i have been playing for 8 months, and i have learned many things from TBers. To make it more practical, i will list the rules i have learned, and i hope that more experienced TBers will help me out.

1. BE PASSIONATE. Don't play bass just because you can't play guitar. You need to love your instrument. A good way of knowing is: does practicing for 15 minutes feel like 2 hours? :scowl: if so, you should think hard if the bass is the instrument for you. Does practicing for 1 hour go in a flash? this is how you should feel EVERY time you play the bass.

2. BE OPEN MINDED :) . it has been repeated 1,000,000 times on Talk Bass, everything is a matter of preference. As a bassist, you can’t afford to limit your learning experience by being closed minded on certain issues. E.g. use picking and plucking methods for playing. Listen to as many types of music as you can, each has its own style of bass, and you will go a long way in understanding the ROLES of the bass.

3. A BASS IS NOT A GUITAR. :mad: Read that line again. The bass is not, and never has been played like a guitar, it doesn’t sound the same as a guitar, and it has infinitely more useful tones and grooves than a guitar. People subconsciously bop their heads to the bass line of ANY song. It is important to understand that if the bass line is out of whack, then everything else will sound rubbish. You can have a music with just a bass and drums, and it sounds fine. But a band without a bass sounds anemic, anorexic and SOUL-LESS.