Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

help a n00b, 6 string decisions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Matt H, Aug 31, 2005.

1. Matt H

Matt H

Jul 30, 2005
    Ithaca, NY
    Warning: Rondo and Ibanez questions. And before anyone tells me to refer to the search, I've done it. As well as reading roughly 140 pages of the rondo "megathread".

ok, disclaimer out of the way. Here's the situation- I'm new to the bass (been playing guitar for years). I picked up a used mexijazz std (the kind that doesn't require anti-biotics) and have been having SOOOO much fun on the thing.

However, i'm already feeling really limited on the 4 strings and narrow jazz neck.

I'm a poor grad student, so the budget is the number one concern here. I can afford to wait a couple of months if necessary to find "the deal".

Anyway- I've narrowed (i think?) the search down to two major options. Buy a used ibanez (most likely the SR506) or a new (or used, if i can find it from a reputable person, maybe on this board) Rondo 6er (Brice).

I've got small hands, but i'm not scared by wide necks or a 35" scale. I figure if i can make the switch from a 24 3/4" gibson scale to a 34" fender jazz scale in three days, another inch on that won't kill me. Also, I'm used to les paul baseball bat necks, and my hands cramp on the tiny TINY jazz neck.

So i could use some advice- which do i look for? A used SR506 at a great price? A new HXB406? think i'd have any luck finding someone to let go of their Neck through prestige Z?

A lot of the information i read about the HXB's were on the original 34" scale ones (therefore, i'd say there's less issues with a floppy B). Additionally, I know that rondo's line tends to improve yearly, so I'm not surprised to find the poorest reviews came from 03 and early 04.