Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help out a Wannabe Jazz Double Bassist.

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by G. Baldy, Mar 28, 2004.

1. G. Baldy

G. Baldy

Mar 28, 2004
    Hey crew. I'm new on the block and was hoping I could discuss some ideas with you guys.

I've been playing guitar for about 12 years and have been occasionally playing electric bass from time to time. I've been wanting to get into the Jazz bass scene for a long time. I'd love to be able to join a trio sometime and play gigs in Jazz clubs.

So I've got some questions for you guys.

(1) How difficult is it to move from an electric bass over to a double bass?

(2) What kind of investment am I looking at for a good double bass that I can play for years? I don't want a beginner bass that I'm going to trade in 5 years later; I want something that is a good quality bass that I can play for years.

(3) Can anyone recommend any good self-study bass books that I can use with my electric bass right now in order to improve my ability to read music?

Thanks gang. I look forward to hearing some responses from you all.

Regards,

G. Baldy

2. (1) Keep in mind that moving from EB to UB is not like moving from an electric to acoustic guitar. They are tuned the same and play the same basic role in music, but the similarity ends there. Playing the UB requires an entirely different physical approach to the instrument from fingering to plucking to simply holding the thing up. It will take some time to just learn how to get a decent sound from an upright.

In this forum you will be told on a regular basis to get a teacher. Do not (as some have) take offense at this or adopt the position that we are a bunch of grumpy old men who won't take time to help out a beginner. What you are hearing is a chorus of experience that has learned (the hard way in many cases) that a little instruction goes a long way.