Help w Noise Schecter 5 String

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by laststand, Sep 8, 2017.

1. laststand

laststand

Feb 1, 2011
    Hi Guys:

I've been lurking here for years, but still consider myself quite green.

I have a Schecter Raiden Elite 5 String bass that I bought new. It has EMG MMHZ pickups. I play at my church, and my bass is picking up noise, I believe from the lighting. No issues with other electric and acoustic electric guitars. The sound will go up and down depending on if I turn 90 degrees. Have tried with and without the ground lift on a Hartke Bass Attack 2. Everything but my guitar has been swapped in and out.

What would you folks suggest to eliminate the noise? The sound guys say it's my pickups? I'm not a pickup expert or electrician. ;-)

Help is MUCH appreciated!

Lee

2. laststand

laststand

Feb 1, 2011
    No suggestions?

3. laststand

laststand

Feb 1, 2011
    Am I invisible?

4. Xandrell

Xandrell

Aug 23, 2014
  5. laststand

laststand

Feb 1, 2011

XANDRELL, thanks for the reply. We are not using an amp. Sound is going through the sound system direct and we use a monitor system. I'm plugged into a Hartke Bass Attack II, which handles ground lift and such. It really seems to be related to the lighting in the room. If I turn 90 degrees, the hum will go down. Schecter suggested a noise gate, but others I have spoken to say that is not good solution. I've ordered a set of active pickups from EMG, so going to give that a go. Just wondered if anyone has had similar issues and how they have solved.

6. Xandrell

Xandrell

Aug 23, 2014
    Sounds like a shielding problem, although people with noise from shielding problems have just installed better pups and the noise diminished.

7. laststand

laststand

Feb 1, 2011