Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bigmcgiv, Nov 1, 2005.

1. bigmcgiv

Mar 29, 2005
    a long story short im going through a divorce, i started playing bass again after many years and i been taking lessons . well practicing tonight i belive i blew my amp speaker out it got a horrible sound . sorta like a kazzoo with a ripped paper. well i need to find a replacement speaker for it it a wabash deluxe bass amp. it got a 12 in speaker. can anyone help me to try to find a replacement speaker for this amp. i like to keep it in really nice shape , lightweight , and a perfect size for my place. thanks matt
  2. chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    have you tried contacting the manufacturer?
  3. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    I dunno about that..

If it's a real clear, loud, trebly, buzzy tone, than it might not be the speaker. Could be the head. ...or maybe an intermittent connection in the speaker or to the speaker?

S'pose you should take it in for troubleshooting. You could connect the output of a home stereo or something maybe to the speaker, to test it (but disconnect the amp from it first!).

4. bigmcgiv

Mar 29, 2005
    i cant seem to find anthing on wabash company all i know is they were from chiago ill, and made amps from the 50s-70s . mine is a solid state model and it sounds like a speaker problem because the sound is worst on low end notes then hi end ones. if it was a amp problem i would happen all the time right. thanks matt
  5. Wesley R

Wesley R Supporting Member

stamped/printed on the frame. This should identify the manufacturer. Charts exist all over the internet to help. Weber speakers could also be a good place to look for the code.

Best of Luck,
    Wesley R.
  6. bigmcgiv

Mar 29, 2005
    tks ill have too check that out, matt ps. also if anyone has any info on this amp i would appericate it. tks again matt
  7. bigmcgiv

Mar 29, 2005