1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How important are grades?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by WyrmDL, Apr 9, 2010.

1. WyrmDL

WyrmDL

Feb 15, 2008
    Hey TB,

This has been a topic I've pondered on for years now. I'm a new college student at the moment.

I have never believed that grades were an essential aspect in education. Perhaps this is my inner soul giving me an excuse for my lack of motivation, or maybe it's my actual philosophy when it comes to the subject; my mind is cluttered, so I might not know for a while.

However, something inside of my heart is telling me not to worry about getting the best grades possible, and instead look to grow and improve myself in other aspects, say, people skills, networks, experiences, etc.

Well, I feel like if I keep trying to prove my point, I'm only fabricating a well thought-out excuse for not wanting to work hard to get better grades. I'll admit it; it's partially true, but on the other hand, I still hold my perspective.

I am a B-average student. Thoughts?

2. Grades are an indication of how well you can take a test.
    They are NOT an indication of how well you learned the material.

3. coreyfyfe

coreyfyfe Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2007
    boston, ma