Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How long was it until you joined your first band

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by SilenceFiction, Feb 11, 2004.

1. SilenceFiction

SilenceFiction

Feb 3, 2004
    Just curious how long everyone was playing for when they joined their first band/group, and how long you played with them.

Im sure this thread has been done but im a noob :bassist:

2. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    Hi. Welcome to TalkBass. I have only been playing bass for a bit more than three years and have yet to join a band. I do have some hope that might all be changinging very soon.
    :bassist:

3. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    About 2 months. Do nothing band that didn't last 3 months. However, I've been in bands pretty much non-stop since then.

4. VS

VS

Jun 6, 2002
    Mountain City, Tennessee
    Discounted Gear: Peavey
    I played for about a year and a half before I joined my first band. The band lasted off and on maybe a year and a half. -Luke

5. under a year, still had a stupid little practice amp but i upgraded my gear pretty fast to get that out of the way.

6. for me it was within the first couple days i got my squier pack. ;) it was kinda weird because no one else in my school played bass at the moment and there were a couple of guys the were in a band with out a bass player that was doing nothing and i joined. i was a good experience and fun at the time, but oddly i am the only one that is still playing in any band. :meh:

7. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    I bought a bass, and joined a band the next day. In the 2.5 years I have been playing, I have always been in a band.

I have been fortunate enough to play with other excellent musicians that allowed me to learn as I played, and were good enough to "hide" my mistakes.

-Mike