1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How Long?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by John453, Apr 1, 2006.

1. John453

John453

Apr 1, 2006
    Columbus, Ohio
    Hello everyone. This is my first post here, although I've been browsing these fourms for about a week I finally decided to make an account.

My question is, how long did it take most of you to get out of playing Etudes from Simandl, Nanny, or other Etude books and start playing orchestral excerpts?

I've been playing for about 2 1/2 months. My teacher and I are working on two octave scales at the moment, and we're on roughly page 40 of Simandl (I don't have the book with me so I can't tell you whats on the page). I hope this is the place to ask this questions, sorry if it's not!

Thank you,
    John

2. I never really worked out of a book. Best way to learn is through the music itself.

3. Anon2962

Anon2962

Aug 4, 2004
    i'm not sure how it works in the states - i know that you guys put alot more time into teaching orchestral excepts. For me, maybe 4 or 5 years before i started playing any 'common' excerpts.

Good luck!

4. NickyBass

NickyBass Supporting Member

Nov 28, 2005
    Southern New Jersey
    Playing bass is a life-long pursuit, so my advise is take as long as you need, and take advantage of as many playing situations as you can. When I started, I played in the high school, and all-state orchestras and jazz bands, in addition to studying Simandl. In college, I started Simandl again, but that time, I played through the book very slowly. I would also search out people to play with, and would spend hours a day playing. When I wasn't playing, I would go to the local jazz clubs.