1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

How Many Basses...

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by rknea, Mar 5, 2021.

1. rknea

rknea Supporting Member

Jan 16, 2007
    Boise, ID
    I've been working on my UB skills for almost 10 years now. I started on a Shen SB-80 and got tired of lugging it up and down the stairs in my house, so I sold it and bought a NS CR5M. I had that 2 years, moved into a one level house so I sold the CR5M and purchased a Krutz 200 Hybrid. I played that for 2 years until I had the opportunity to play a '39 Kay and I bought the Kay, sold the Krutz. The thin neck was attractive at the start but ultimately started bothering my left hand, so now, 2 years later, I picked up a King Mortone. I finally have it dialed in and like it a lot, although the longer scale is taking a bit to get used to.

So...how many basses did it take you to find the "right one"?

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    Three. American Standard---> No-name Czech Carved---> NS LaScala.

In retrospect, I think I got lucky.

Reiska, rknea and Keith Rawlings like this.
  3. AGCurry

AGCurry Supporting Member

Jun 29, 2005
    St. Louis
    I'm not sure ... will I know when I find it?

From 1975 to the present, I've had ten basses. Two of them (very cheap ones) I dumped immediately; each of the others had *something* to recommend it.

Stepping into arco playing really changed the qualities I desire in a bass - and it took me a while to figure that out - so there was some churning.