Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How much are lessons?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by goodguy782, Jul 27, 2004.

1. goodguy782

goodguy782

Jul 20, 2004
    california
    I've been playing for about 6 months and ever since I got on TalkBass I've been reading all about how important lessons are if you want to make the best of playing bass, unforetunetly I'm a bassist on a budget (right now my whole set up cost less than 150 bucks!) so before I go looking for an instructor I was hoping to get an idea of how much I'm gonna have to shell out. Also any suggestions for a quality bass\amp for a beginner that isn't a fortune but I can play as I get better and not feel like Im strumming a P.O.S.

Thanks!

2. Marc Piane

Marc Piane

Jun 14, 2004
    Chicago
    depends on where you are. I'm in Chicago and charge $40/hr if students come to my studio and $50/hr if I go to them. Some teachers charge less, some more. I was taking lessons for a while that were $75/hr. I am a degreed professional so I needed to find a really great teacher. Just depends. Lesson teaching rates are set solely on what that teacher thinks their time is worth.

3. bill h

bill h

Aug 31, 2002
    small town MN
    $25 half hour in Minnesota or so...

4. The average price everywhere is 40 bucks a lesson. SOme more, some less, but that's the standard. That's too steep for me though, so I went a found a teacher who only charges $25. I live in NYC. Even in a place with so much teaching competition it's hard to find an experienced teacher for less than 40.

5. Kurisu

Kurisu

Nov 19, 2003
    Saskatoon SK
    I'm paying $20 US for online lessons, one every two weeks. That includes an hour of personal instruction via mp3, a bunch of sheet music to practice (like 25 pages the first week) and some mp3 files of examples. Works pretty good for me.