1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How much practice before you perform?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by WestyBassBob, Apr 10, 2020.

1. Less than an hour. I’m a total pro

41 vote(s)
    27.5%
  2. 2-5 hours. I can learn it in a day if I get the time

50 vote(s)
    33.6%
  3. More than 5 hours. It takes me a while to get it right.

13 vote(s)
    8.7%
  4. I’ve lost count. I’m slow or I’m a perfectionist.

18 vote(s)
    12.1%
  5. Something about carrots

27 vote(s)
    18.1%
  1. WestyBassBob

WestyBassBob

Mar 2, 2020
    As a relative newbie and total amateur musician I am curious to know how many hours you practice a song before you typically feel like you are ready perform it? This would include both solo practice and practicing with your band.

2. David McIntire

David McIntire

Apr 5, 2020
    Earth
    In a perfect world? I rehearse each tune I'm asked to perform until I can play it, without accompaniment, without the recording, by myself within a few seconds of the original recording's track length.

Thing is? There is no such thing as a perfect world. So, I do as much as I can, between the time I accept the assignment and the date of the show. And trust my experience to fill in the blanks.

easyj, JCooper, Oddly and 1 other person like this.
  3. Lobster11

Lobster11 Supporting Member Supporting Member

Apr 22, 2006
    Williamsburg, VA
    For most of us amateurs, I think the criterion is usually something like "knowing it well enough that you can usually play the song through without mistakes." For the real pros, the criterion is "knowing it well enough that you can't possibly make a mistake.

4. WestyBassBob

WestyBassBob

Mar 2, 2020
    Yes I was asking about how many hours that typically takes you. I know there will be a huge variance in responses. I’m just curious.

David McIntire likes this.
  5. David McIntire