how old are you?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by riotboi911, Dec 21, 2004.

1. riotboi911

Dec 18, 2004
    i very curious towards those of you who have built finished basses, and your age.

if its a profession or just a hobby. and what experience you had prior to building.

oh. and pictures of your basses would be cool too.
  2. Cerb

Sep 27, 2004
    I was 14 when I started mine. Just turned 15. I haven't had all that much time to get working on it, but I do have the neck laminates glued up and shaped. Now to get the body wings cut out. The neck is a purpleheart/maple/mahogany/maple/purpleheart combination. The body wings are going to be figured maple front and back with a thin (1/8") veneer of mahogany between them.

Edit: I forgot to mention that it has went pretty well so far. I've really had no woodworking experience until now. Just read up on the tools you are using beforehand.
  3. I am soon to be 24. I've been building as a "hobby" for about 4 years or so. I would love to be doing it full time, but living in Northern VA with the high cost of living, that's just not going to happen.

Attached are 2 pictures of my latest, soon to be finished project for a local guy.

Attached Files:

4. Cerb

Sep 27, 2004