Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How to hear while playing?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by phephron, May 22, 2004.

1. phephron

phephron

May 5, 2004
    I am a newbie here. I have a late 60's Guild Starfire bass that I have started playing again after a 20 year hiatus. I play in a band that plays contemporary church music in a pretty large auditorium. My problem is that that there is so much echo with all the other instruments, I am not sure if I am sometimes a half step off when I am doing a walk, or doing a little improv. Is there a device that would let me hear myself through an ear piece? We have everything miked through a board, but I don't think that I can get a feed through that, so I would need some sort of standalone device if there is such an animal. Thanks for any help.
    I am glad to be back among the living. I did not realize how much I had missed playing.

Paul

2. Eyescream

Eyescream

Feb 4, 2004
    Knoxville, TN
    Does the place have monitors for you to use?

3. phephron

phephron

May 5, 2004
    Eyescream -
    Sorry I will be a bit more complete. No monitors currently. The stage is sort of awkward since it is really for a church service, so we are kind of crammed in. The way the amps are set is that they have to be toward the back, and then miked, but I have speakers from the guitar and piano pointed toward me as well as my amp. I have also got the drums right next to me. So unless things are really quiet, I am playing more by sight and feel than by what I can hear.

Paul

4. thumper63449

thumper63449 Guest

May 22, 2004
    Downwind of Tacoma