How to transcribe or do the music notation thing

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Mario Lewis, Apr 12, 2004.

1. Mario Lewis

Mario Lewis

Jul 6, 2001
    Clinton, MD
    O.K. I'm a relative newbie to this idea, but I'm convinced it's possible and portable. So here goes.

I want to be able to write/compose/transcribe (I don't know what term is best) the stuff I play onto sheet music.

Essentially, I sometimes hit a brilliant streak at rehearsal where I can do no wrong. Could be my mood, could have been a great day at work or a crappy day and I take it out on my bass and do some really great stuff with tout thought or planning. Well, I'd like to be able to do it again! So, if I had some software on my laptop that I could take with me that would put on to paper what I'm playing, that'd be like REALLY USEFUL!

Now, I think I need first an A/D converter to plug my bass into and have the signal converted from an analog to digital signal. Then do I need a MIDI converter to convert that into something that some software program could use to put what I'm playing on paper?

I am totally clueless and the guys at GC salivate everytime I come in there because (I think) they see me coming and I have no idea of what they're trying to sell me. So I don't ask them anymore.

Please help.

As a sidenote: I've been doing some homework on this issue, and I'm thinking that a product like Finale Guitar is what I need, but my question remains, how do I get my analog bass signal into this application????

2. Mario Lewis

Mario Lewis

Jul 6, 2001
    Clinton, MD
    Sorry for the bump, but I am REALLY interested in how to make this happen.

References to web sites that will tell me are welcome as well.

3. Sounds like Autoscore is what you're after. I haven't had any experience at using this software, but I remember looking at the website a while back and thinking it might be useful. It may or may not be quick enough for bass players... Worth a shot though.