Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How would you improvise off this basic bass line?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Exploding Boy, Nov 9, 2003.

1. Exploding Boy

Exploding Boy

Oct 30, 2003
    Code:
    G----------------------------------
    D----------------------------------
    A-77777777-------------------------
    E---------777777779999999955555555-
    I'm just starting to learn how to improvise off of some basic chords my guitar player in my band plays, but I want to advance myself even more.

2. Exploding Boy

Exploding Boy

Oct 30, 2003
    just an example of something I did.

My guitar player would play this:

Code:
    E------------------
    B------------------
    G----------6--7--6-
    D-77777----6--7--6-
    A-77777----4--5--4-
    E-55555------------
    and I'll play:

Code:
    G------------------
    D------------------
    A----------4-45-74-
    E-55555-----7------
    I think the spacing my be a little off there, but I'm sure you get the idea. It may not seem like much of an improvisation, but it's better than what I used to do in my last band. The way I came up with this line is that I basically listened to the guitar, and in my head I basically played out what I thought would sound like a good bass line over top of that. Then I just found the notes and applied it. I don't know if what I did was some actually progression technique or something, but I'd like to learn more on how to do it.

3. lowerclef

lowerclef

Nov 10, 2003
    Exploding Boy,

You may not want to hear this, but you should really ditch the tablature. Tab is okay for learning someone else's million-mile-an-hour two-handed tapping solo extravaganza, but it's useless for learning to function in a band. Learn some music theory.