I need some info on a Tobias Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by aroradrummer, Oct 14, 2004.

1. aroradrummer

Oct 14, 2004
    I have just aquired a brand new Tobias Paragon Bass in it's case. The only problem is, I'm a drummer. I don't know much about basses at all. I can't find much info on Tobias and this model isn't listed on thier current site. It looks like they got bought out by Gibson. Anyways, does anyone know how much this is worth. Is it a good bass? How would you rank it among other basses? It's a five string and it looks and feels really nice. But again I am very novice when it comes to basses. :help:

Thanks for your help!

2. BoiNtC

Nov 25, 2002
    NYC, USA
    Tobias basses are now built and manufactured by Gibson.
    Mikes new bass line is called MTDs, you can read about it in the company section of his website. www.mtdbass.com
  3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I read some stuff a while ago about how Gibson closed the Tobias production facility, just about the time they were going into making those basses - Paragons etc. ? They've never been advertised as far as I know/remember - how did you come by one Brandon?
  4. are MTD basses any good?
    The King and The Heir Looks really nice. PLus their in my price range :hyper:
  5. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather

Somewhere around 1998 they were supposed to introduce 3 new models but I don't think they were ever released. You may have a prototype or limited run instrument.
  6. Stinkoman20xx

Oct 19, 2003
    post a pic im curious about this.
  7. Thombass

Thombass Guest

Dec 17, 2003
    I think the paragorn is the same model as an old model built by Mike Tobias, but I don't remember exactly the name of this bass.

Someone HERE have asked the same question as yours. Look in the messages, i'm sure you'll find the answer. I think it was called Renegade.
  8. Bruce Lindfield