1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I want to play the double bass but have low budget. Should I get EUB first?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by TastyCarcass, Dec 6, 2011.

1. TastyCarcass

TastyCarcass

Nov 28, 2011
    I could spend either £400 on a cheap ebay double bass or on an reliable electric upright bass to get me started.

I do ultimately want to play the double bass for blues, funk and jazz, but do bands/artists like having EUB players? Would I have trouble finding gigs? Is it common for people to have an EUB to practice on but rent DBs for performances?
    :confused:

Also if anyone has any recommendations on beginner low budget brands or deals it'd be greatly appreciated :)

2. Your best bet at getting a double bass at that price is buying a used bass.

I'm no expert on the subject, but my brief encounters with EUB is that they're not 'really' a substitute for a DB. The feel is different between the two. If your goal is to play DB, I would not consider an EUB as being a 'transition' instrument building up to playing DB.

IMHO, whatever instrument you 'learn on' and/or practice is the instrument you should probably be using for gigs, as it'll be the instrument that you're comfortable playing.

3. bssist

bssist

Jun 23, 2007
    St. Louis, MO USA
    I would agree, EUB is NOT db. It has been my experience that anyone looking for a db player is looking for db, not a simulated db. It does not seem logical to me to rent a db for performances. The db can be a very personal instrument. Each one is different and it takes time to develop a "relationship" with an instrument. Unless you are very accomplished you will not be able to grab just any db and make it sound good. Working at it on a specific instrument will allow you to learn the finer points of making good sounds.