1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I'm new here...! ...recording on a pc question

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by inDIGInous, Dec 3, 2003.

1. Hello guys, nice forum here. I am new to recording my bass lines on a pc. One friend tells me I need to buy an external midi unit to jack into and connect to my soundcard. Another friend says I just need to buy a 1/8 adaptor for my bass cable and jack into my soundcard mic input directly ...I cant seem to find a straight answer on the subject and I think the guy at the music store just wants to sell me some expensive hardware. What I really need is to talk to someone who records bass lines into their pc. I've got a nice Ibanez SR810 bass, a nice ampeg combo 210 amp with built in effects, and a new computer system and all I wanna do is record the noise comeing out of my amp into my computer. ...please help!

2. ...nobody wants to lend me advice huh? ...oh well, I'll go elsewhere and hope that someone will help me to understand ...thanks for all the good advice ...I just don't understand why I cant find a straight answer on this subject ...or even a peep from this forum. BTW, I have read through the previous posts looking for an answer, to no avail.

3. Hey inDIGInous, you've only given us a couple of days to respond... Give us a chance matey!

There's another recording newbie thread here:
    http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=95531.

It pretty much covers the basics. So that we can collect similar topics in one thread it might be good if you add your experiences on to the end of that thread instead of building on this one. It just keeps all the useful information together in one place.

There have been other threads on soundcards generally and discussions about particular soundcards and software.