Improv Question - 1 key or a group of Chords?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by rodoherty1, Oct 31, 2003.

1. Hi Guys,

I have yet another question about Improvising Lines/Soloing.

Background: I've been playing Electric Bass for 8 years and and I'm due to take my Grade 3 (Rockschool) exam in a few weeks. I can physically play but my theory is a little weak so Grade 3 addresses these weaknesses. One weakness is improvising over a given Chord Chart.

What I do know: I have been practicing playing my scales in all 12 keys for about a year now. I know my circle of fifths and, given a certain key, I could wander around the fretboard, playing a bunch of neighbouring notes from that key. This is technically a solo but there are two problems here.

Problem 1: Let say I'm in the key of G. As I play my big scale of G, the notes I play may not go well with some of the chords in the key of G. i.e. I may not be playing the 1st, 3rd or 5th of the chord and so, from a simplistic point of view, my notes may not suit well. This is addressed by ensuring that I keep an eye on the next chord and then try to ensure that, when the chord changes, I choose a note from the next chord (e.g the 1st , 3rd or 5th ... safe choices).

Problem 2: What happens if the next chord in the progression is not in G? Let's say we have an F7. I know Em is in G. I know F#dim is in G. But what do I do if I hit an F7? It's sounds like alot of work to stop playing the big G scale (which is my solo ... because I'm solo over chords in the key of G) and turn my attention to the notes in F7, and then resume my big G scale when the chords from key of G resume.

I read an article in a recent issue of BassPlayer Magazine by Chris Chaney. He suggested learning a scale for each type of chord (e.g. sus4, maj7, min7, 7, 7b5). I also recently read that Jimmy Haslip, when asked to solo over a given chord chart, assigns scales to individual chords.