1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Is building a bass possible?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by RickeyC, Jan 17, 2012.

1. RickeyC

RickeyC

Jan 17, 2011
    Arkansas
    I am 19 years old. Been playing bass for about 10 years now and am loving it. I recently have become very interested in making a bass. I have little woodworking experience, but I do know an older gentleman who has a full shop, and works with wood regularly. He doesn't build basses, but he knows his equipment and how to use them.

I am going over for a day soon and going to have him show me the tools and how to use them.

I'm looking at building just the body right now (I will order a neck from warmoth. Sorry, I just don't even know where to start on a neck..)

If I could eventually make a bass out of a nice wood and it is solid overall, would I be able to sell it for a little profit?

Many may say, No! You're only a kid or you're not a pro..
    But, my response is many luthiers worked with wood as a kid and no one is born a professional.

I'm just at a loss. Do I have hope? :help:

2. I don't think there's a reason to say no, while your job done reach the price you ask for the bass, then You will have a space in the market. Thats my 20 cents

3. Seph Cameron

Seph Cameron

Jan 17, 2012
    Stroud, UK
    As someone who's just getting started and looking into going into luthiery(?) myself (I could count the number of guitars/basses I've built on two hands), I'd say you wouldn't be able to sell it. Not yet. Pick away at it over the next few years, make the odd one as and when you can afford it. Refine your technique. If a friend wants to commission one, great. More practice for you, and a bit of pocket money too. Just don't see it as quick cash, because it definitely isn't.