1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is learning songs important? Or should i focus on technique?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by CochiseG, Mar 22, 2009.

1. CochiseG

CochiseG

Mar 22, 2009
    First of all, hello to everyone, as this is my first time posting here.

I have been playing bass for two year and half now, had a teacher for two years. I didnt progress much I think.

I would just like to know if you guys think it is important to learn song, or simply build technique to improvise. I don't know any song from beginning to end, those that i know, i know them only partly, learned by ear.

I can play Money, some songs by bach (easy stuff, Musette bwv123 and some songs i figured out by ear), and other easy songs like sunshine of your love, etc. I have stopped my bass classes i june last year and started violin instead. Now i play more bass now than i did when i had a teacher, i wouldnt practice much at the time.

I never learned any songs that i played with a band since the guitarist and drummer would never learn them anyway, so if i learned it as a whole, it ended up being completely useless.

After nearly three years playing, i think im still at level of a beginner who has played for a week or two, and thats quite discouraging

2. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Aug 16, 2008
    Hamburg, Germany
    While technique is certainly important, I think the main role a bass player has to play is to complement a song. This can be achieved with little skill in the techniques department. It's more about the feel and the mystic "groove" that really makes a bassist stand out (well, if you play like wooten that's another way to stand out).

Simply put: I think it's more important to get a song going than to have flashy technique.