Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

is my string height right?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by trocadero, Jul 8, 2005.

1. trocadero

trocadero

Jun 12, 2005
    Gamleby, Sweden
    Hello, I just got my first double bass together.
    I really am a jazzpianoplayer but I got a double bass almost for free and I would like to become a decent jazzbass player in the future. My sister has a double bass that I've been playing on for a couple of months and I like it.
    When I bought my bass the bottom had losened and instead of a real endpin it had like a sofaleg. The repairguy(is luthier the word?) is very nice, cheap and is suppose to be good. He said it was a checz bass 50 years or older. Anyway when I got it back he had replaced the bridge, an endpin was installed and he had put new strings on it. Beacuse it's new stealstrings it sounds very strange right now when I'm playing because there new but thats not the issue.

I played it for the first time when I got i back.
    The issue is when I try to play Bb on the A-string I really have to work hard to sustain it. This is much easyer on my sisters bass.
    On my sister bass I'm almost unable to slide in a atm-card at the top end of the fingerboard under the strings. With my bass I can do so easaly. Could this be the cause of the issue?
    How much string height is normal?

EDIT: I've just measured the string height just where the strings goes into the nut . On my sisters bass its 0,5 mm and over 1 mm on mine. It was basicly the same on the e and the g-side.

/Anders
    Sweden

2. trocadero

trocadero

Jun 12, 2005
    Gamleby, Sweden
    please, can anyone help me? is my bass setup right or should I get the grooves in the nut filed down?

3. Istar

Istar

Apr 5, 2005
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Sounds high to me... but then again I`m no expert.
    Why don`t just call your Luthier ?