1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Gregorski, Mar 27, 2020.

1. Gregorski

Gregorski

Dec 23, 2019
    Muscle pain below left thumb. A little bit of background: I am a beginner, started playing bass about 3 months ago, but have been playing guitar (and banjo) for the past 20 years. The pain started several days ago following a quite extensive practice session (4 hours), but doesn't seem to go away even though I basically stopped playing (less than 30 min a day).
    cheers,
    Gregorski

2. HG1180

HG1180

Aug 11, 2019
    Rehoboth Beach,DE
    I recall when I first started playing bass (about 5 years ago), I had a similar pain in my thumb from the extensive amount of hand movement that bass requires, more so than guitar, I would say that this is more than likely normal for most players (?) But I would give it a rest until it’s comfortable to play again.

Cheers!

3. HG1180

HG1180

Aug 11, 2019
    Rehoboth Beach,DE
    Oh and I left out, it could be due to the size difference in the neck of the bass compared to guitar or banjo and your hand having to compensate for playing and being more stretched out.

4. lowphatbass

lowphatbass **** Supporting Member

Feb 25, 2005
    west coast
    Stretch it, ice it, let pain be your guide. If it’s severe I would lay off for a couple days...it’s tendons and muscles you’re dealing with..the longer they stay flared-up and strained the longer they take to recover and the greater the risk of injury.

5. DuckSoup

DuckSoup

Dec 20, 2017
    Colorado
    Is it a sore achey pain or more sharp? I actually had sharp pain as a beginner and it was from me putting too much pressure on the neck with my thumb, or basically squeezing the neck.