Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is this normal

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Rob Sleeper, Mar 2, 2006.

1. Rob Sleeper

Rob Sleeper

Oct 13, 2005
    Chicago
    Hey everyone,
    I am just learning to stand while playing after how many years of playing with a stool and let me tell you I really like it a lot. Just one question, since I am just beginning to stand, is it normal for the left hand to hurt a little bit? I am doing everything right technique wise. Do you guys think that I just need to get use the the feeling more?
    Thanks

2. If your left hand is hurting more than when you were sitting, I think your stance may be a little off balance, and your thumb is supporting too much of the weight of the bass. It does take a little experimentation to find your balance point, but try to get it where there is a minimum amount of pressure on your hand, and the bass will almost stand by itself for a second before tipping.

3. bassa

bassa Guest

Jun 16, 2005
    hey, sleeper,

how you doing there? i, too switched from half a lifetime of sitting to standing. the key is: DON'T HOLD THER BASS WITH YOUR LEFT HAND - not much anyway. and don't "squeeze" the string between thumb & finger. just like sitting, the weight of your arm should be the main factor in stopping the string.

the delight of standing is that you get to really become at one with the instrument. it almost feels like dancing! i find i move about quite a bit when i stand to play, shift weight from foot to foot. i nestle the bass in front of the iliac crest (hip bone) - probably helps that i'm no longer skinny. in thumb position i let the neck rest slightly on my collar bone. the idea is to free up both arms as much as possible. the huge advantage over sitting is in the bow arm since you can get your right shoulder out in front of the bass, making more sound with less effort.