1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Jazz/Music Major Audition Tips

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Garret Wheeler, May 12, 2016.

1. Garret Wheeler

Garret Wheeler

Mar 1, 2016
    Hey everybody! So in a few weeks I'm gonna be graduating from high school and after summer I'll be heading off to college. Before I even applied to any schools I knew that I wanted to study music. Anyway, I got into my No.1 choice school and there are auditions required for the music program. I would feel pretty comfortable, but a large part of the audition is sight reading. I know my scales and everything, but being that I started off a self-taught rock bassist, sight reading was never one of my priorities. In the past few months I've been trying to get better at it, but I'm still not very comfortable.

So bassically (pardon the pun lol) if anyone has any tips regarding sight reading, college auditions, or studying music in general, I'd be very grateful!

2. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

Nov 15, 2005
    Cincinnati
    As far as sight reading goes, you'll never be good enough. Meaning that it will be a lifelong task to improve. It's a skill and as such learning is a process, not an event. Get any written books you and find (cello, trombone, bassoon, bass, orchestral funk, rock , jazz) and play them as slowly as you need to to get them right. That means giving the sixteenth note a beat at 60bpm or slower. Speed will come in time. Know the neck, know it as well as you possibly can. Know all your scales in all the forms in all the places on the neck. Take your time, but work on it every day. Get with a group that reads, any kind of group, community band, church, theater, jazz whatever. Read music, read every day, read with good musicians.