1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Just bought my first fretless...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by YCBass, Sep 17, 2008.

1. YCBass

YCBass Supporting Member

Aug 29, 2007
    SoCal
    Well, after much contemplation on what price point I should start at since I can't afford a matching Lull 5; I decided to go for a used good bass instead of a total beginner fretless eventhough I am just starting my fretless journey.

These seem to be better regarded than the current version. So the plan is to keep this bass until I can order my dream Lull - whenever that is.

My new Yamaha TRB5-IIF!

YamahaTRB5-IIF.

She's coming from Quebec, Canada so I won't see her for a bit - and I hope customs/duty fees don't kill me.

Review and live pics to follow.

2. I hate to tell you this, but a friend had one of those- it had the WORST fretless tone I've ever heard. Not a hint of mwah, no matter the EQ setting. A new preamp could only help, IMO. I'd be very interested to know if this one sounds good(meaning my friend had a lemon)or if they're all like that.

3. YCBass

YCBass Supporting Member

Aug 29, 2007
    SoCal
    I haven't played this exact model, but I've played a Yamaha from this era (I think it was a BB3000 or something) and if the pickups and preamp are the same or anywhere close I am a happy man.

All the "mwah" I need... And I don't know how this sounds but I didn't really get a fretless for the mwah, so to speak.

We'll see.

4. I've played a few BBs & liked them; owned a TRB-5II & liked it, but the aforementioned fretless was just awful. I truly hope yours is way better. :)

5. YCBass

YCBass Supporting Member

Aug 29, 2007
    SoCal
    Cool, thanks Bro... I hope that enough of what you liked about the TRB5-II transfers over the my fretless version.

6. iamthebassman

iamthebassman

Feb 24, 2004
    Austin,Texas