1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Just Not Cutting It; Getting Discouraged

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Swing Doom, Oct 13, 2013.

1. I decided to take the dive and go to music school. I'm attending Michigan State University as a Jazz Studies major and am studying under Prof. Rodney Whitaker. It wasn't a tough decision to come here as it was what I had wanted to do since I was a freshman in high school. It's been about a month and a half since my first day of classes and over this period of time my level of confidence has taken a sharp decrease.

I feel I have come to this school in a somewhat unique situation. I've actually been taking private lessons with Prof. Whitaker for a few years and this was the main reason I chose to attend this school. I feel the difference now is that rather than having lessons every two or three weeks like I did back in high school, I now have lessons almost every week with occasional off-weeks when Prof. Whitaker is out of town for a gig or something.

It's not that I feel I've made the wrong decision coming to school. I definitely do not regret coming here; this is where I feel I belong at this point in my life. I just feel I'm not improving at a rate that I should be, especially with such a prestigious professor. I try very hard. I practice two to three hours per day (I'm not counting ensembles rehearsals, performances, or lessons in this calculation) and I want to do more but I don't exactly know how.

So I basically have two questions: