Just starting out playing bass

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Jonnyknowsbest, Mar 15, 2005.

1. Jonnyknowsbest

Mar 15, 2005
    I am just starting out playing bass guitar, but i have one constant problem. If i play a fretted note, when i let the string up, the open note rings out. What technique should i use to avoid this unwanted "hammer off"

2. 5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO
    I am assuming you don't want any note to ring on your pull-off? To stop this, simply mute the string with part of your right hand, or another finger, whichever is more convienent. A quick touch is all it takes to mute the string's ring. With practice this will be become natural and you won't need to think about it.
  3. Like he said it will start to come naturally... Practice makes perfect :D :bassist:
  4. tim99

tim99 Supporting Member

Jan 28, 2003
    Welcome to talkbass. Please try to make the titles of your posts match what you want to learn about. It will help you get answers and will help others who may be interested in the same topic. Lots of people avoid the "Yo I am new and I know nothing" thread titles. But they might answer a "Help me with my fretting fingers technique."

I play bass right handed. Fingerstyle. My right thumb dampens the two strings "above" the string I am playing right now by dragging up and down, my left fingers dampen the strings "below" the the one I am playing right now by laying accross the strings, and my left fretting fingers gently let up on the string so they dampen the sound as they come up off the fret and then the string. My fretting fingers do not "hammer down" onto and do not "fly away" from the strings. Also, my 1, 2, and 3 fretting fingers do not get more than 1/2 inch from the strings. My pinky is another story. It is from another planet and refuses to obey my commands and training.