1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Just starting.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Danny E., Apr 16, 2006.

1. Danny E.

Danny E.

Apr 16, 2006
    Hello, I'm new to these forums and to anything musical for that matter. I've never played a guitar or bass, don't know how to read notes, I was in a school band once but that was in the third grade with a violin for about a semester, its been six years since then (yes, I am a freshman in highschool). I am, so to speak, fresh outa' the womb.

I've no idea why but the electric bass just appeals to me. Maybe I just like the sound, maybe It's my need to be unique in a guitar/drums oriented community, whatever the reasoin I'm on the market for a beginer's bass.

As I said I'm completely new to the music scene. I read things like Fender, Ibanez, or any other brand name but I don't know what that means. One of my other hobbies is airsoft. I know what makers' reputations are. If I'm looking for a matal body I go to Classic Army. If I'm looking for easily upgradable I go to ICS. If I'm looking for cheap POS I go to CYMA. Sorry to bring up unfarmiliar terms but now you know what I'm talking about. I guess what I'm asking is What brands are trusted and what should a beginer like me should stay away from?

Is there a place that defines all the terms of bass? While I look around I see things like MIM or MIA, J and P, I have learned the different parts of a bass like the neck, frettboard, pick ups, body, but stuff like styles and designs I have not found anything on yet.

Well, I am looking for my first bass. All I have established is that I want a 4-string fretted electric bass thats around 250-300 and thats it. What are some other things I should consider when lookin at a bass?