Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Knobs on my new Yamaha RBX270

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by kiwlm, Feb 24, 2004.

1. Yippie, after months of spending my time on talkbass.com, finally went shopping and picked up a starter yamaha bass yesterday!

Question, there are 3 knobs on the bass, and according to the site here
    yamaha rbx270
    It says the 3 knobs are master volume, master tone and pickup selector.

Ok, I am an absolute beginner here, the first knob I assume will be the master volumn, turn up loud sound, turn down, no sound.

The second I will assume is the pickup selector, coz it gives a more mid sound when its turned down, and gives a more bass sound when its turned up. And it have a temporary stop at the center, I assume to use 1/2 of both pickups.

What I don't know now is the third knob. I just turn up and down, sound wise, there are no difference. But if its all the way up, there are some cases where some noise are generated, and when the strings are struck, and I just touch them with my fingers, there's some "clicking" sound coming from my small practice amp. When I turn the knob all the way down, no problems at all.

Somone please englithen me? Thanks in advance. :hyper:

2. pc

pc

Apr 4, 2000
    Montreal QC
    I am not shure, but looks like a problem with the tone capacitor. Did you buy it new? Go back to the store and show it to the salesperson. Ask to compare to other basses to check if it is ok.