1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Kustom KXB500 Comes Through Again

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Selehpotsihpem, Oct 19, 2018.

1. Selehpotsihpem

Selehpotsihpem

Aug 16, 2017
    I just started playing some HEAVY music with some awesome, awesome dudes. Very happy to be finally playing the stuff I’ve heard in my head for the past decade (give or take).

The rig WAS a P-Bass w/ Basslines > Darkglass B3K / Alpha Omega > Sunn 1200s (Fender-reissue 1200W hybrid head) > Barefaced Six10 cabinet. Loads of gain, big chords in Drop-C including some power chords, add-2, etc.

The Sunn needed a new power button (wouldn’t turn off) so I took it in. I fired up the KXB500 in its stead and we were all blown away by the improvement in tone. More clarity, more low end, just all around better tone.

Pretty funny considering I have about $800 into the Sunn and got the Kustom on a whim for $100 at a used store as a backup.

Such a good amp...

The Sunn is now up for sale. I’m sold on the Kustom head.

jwindham, Session1969, Relsom and 3 others like this.
  2. Zonked

Zonked

Jul 12, 2010
    Los Angeles
    Yeah, this kind of situation keeps coming up.

I think some people judge by cost or brand name and and so, expect to hear a more "quality" sound from a more expensive amp or bass and so,...... "they do".

I guess it is a confirmation bias of sorts.

The sound may be different, but not necessarily better or more quality.

Generally speaking you do get a better product the more you spend but only to a certain point.

The good news is that nowadays if you are creative and have something to say musically you don't need to spend big $$$$$ to get a great sounding and perfectly pro rig or bass.

It is indeed a great time to be a bass player!

bassfran and Sanchan like this.
  3. Relsom

Relsom

Nov 23, 2013
    The Old Dominion