Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Learning where each note is on the fretboard

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Sunshower, Aug 31, 2004.

1. Sunshower

Sunshower

May 26, 2004
    Norway
    I have been playing bass for about 2 months now, and had my first lesson today. It seemed like my teacher expected me to know where all the notes are located on the fretboard, when I knew zero :meh: (I chose to get a teacher since practising on my own didn't really get me anywhere :rolleyes: ).

Are there any good methods of learning where all the notes are on the fretboard (and learning it fast!)?

2. Sunshower

Sunshower

May 26, 2004
    Norway
    Great, thanks :) but do you know any good ways to memorize where the notes are on the fretboard? I was a bit unclear in my previous post, sorry ;)

3. I'm trying to memorize them right now too, my memory sucks so it's not going really fast.

Remember the octave trick, two strings down and two frets up (up tonally, down the fretboard) is the same note an octave higher. So if you have your C on fret 3 of the A string, you will also have a C on fifth fret of G string.

Also, 12th fret is same note as that open string. Another, fifth fret is always the same note as the open string below it. So D string fifth fret is G.

4. It took me a little while to 'catch on' to the notes. what I first did was learn the "dotted" notes on each string(5th fret,7th,9th,etc). I find it easier that way to just go up//down a half-step(fret).

Example(from low to high):
    5th fret: ADGC
    7th fret: BEAD
    9th fret(tricky due to the flats[ b ] and sharps -[#'s]):C#/Db,F#/Gb,B,E
    12th fret: EADG (same notes as open strings,except an Octave(12 notes) higher.

Once you've sucessfully remembered those notes,than you can move on to learning the non-dotted notes.

Good luck and take your time.

5. Jazzin'